Welcome to the inside of my head.

7. Brownies?

So a little while ago I went to a friend’s 21st birthday party. It was hippie themed and she really put in the effort to make it feel like you’d stepped back in time as soon as you stepped into her flat. There was fabric with geometric and psychedelic print draped in every room; posters of jimi hendrix and ☮  everywhere; Elton John’s ‘Are you ready for love’ being played on an old record player; a room entirely devoted to Shisha and people dressed in some truly fabulous costumes. There were at least 3 John Lennon’s wandering around!

I was having a nice time catching up with people from secondary school that I hadn’t seen in a while but I was noticing that people were getting very excited about baking some brownies. Don’t get me wrong, I love brownies but I just didn’t understand what all the fuss was about.  And then someone opened a draw and whipped out a small plastic bag. What was inside? Weed.

Yup, that’s right… they were going to make weed brownies. I have never felt like such an innocent in my whole life! I should have guessed- it’s a hippie themed party after all. People were here to get trippy.

I thought I’d check the stash out. It was a surprisingly small package and to me, it just looks like dry grass. It smells a bit funny too; not strong but you can’t miss it either. Anyhow, I decided to help out so there I was casually grinding up some cannabis. My parents would be mortified. Then there was some frying involved,  followed by some flour, milk, coco powder and some time in the oven. The ‘brownies’ were made.

In case you’re wondering, no I didn’t have any. It was fun making them though! 😛

Leave a Reply

