Welcome to the inside of my head.

It’s only when you have other people around your house that you realise just how weird your home and family are. Yesterday I had my friends over for belated birthday celebrations highlighting exactly this point…

  • When someone phones us, 3 phones start ringing all of which have different ring tones which just leads to an almighty racket. Stopping this din is the only reason we pick up the phone.
  • People are always phoning my house, quite often at the same time so we were forced to get call waiting.
  • My parents are very affectionate and I don’t really mind, but if my friends are right in front of me and are here for my 21st and my mum is squishing my cheeks like I’m 5, then I do mind.
  • My mum is a tutor so there are ALWAYS kids at my house. Many of them turn up unannounced or an hour late or their parents are late picking them up. This also means we must have the most rung doorbell in our general vicinity.

All of the above make it bloody difficult to watch anything on tv without subtitles! What would I do without internet tv?!

Very few people can enter my home without experiencing at least one awkward moment. I guess this is the price you pay for knowing me. Awkward moments ensue due the lack of privacy I have. The only doors in my house that have a lock are the bathroom and the front door. So if we’re dancing like fools in the living room, we gon’ get caught. If we’re watching a movie that has only one sex scene, my parents WILL walk in during that one part and judge me forever. This is law.

With all that said, having my friends around yesterday was great fun! We watched Step Up because it has such an unpredictable plotline (!) and so I could drool over Channing Tatum (potential Perv Post candidate!). There was also lots of munching and even after telling my mum to tone it down, there was still enough food for 20. That’s my mother for you. Always feeding people. Afterwards robot dancing, there were attempts at moonwalking and twirling followed by a rather impressive rap battle of ‘Ninjas’ in Paris.  Yeh boi!

Over and Out!

Leave a Reply

