Welcome to the inside of my head.

It’s the start of February. We all know that means Valentine’s day is around the corner. Now everyone will be having different experiences this year; there will be those who are beautifully, disgustingly in love, those who wish they were and those who think they don’t care. This post caters for the latter two types of people.

I think emotions and music pretty much go hand in hand. Music helps brings out what you feel even if you didn’t know it yourself and I think that’s pretty magical… the fact that you can hear something and it will make you think of a person, a memory or something you were trying to bury. I decided to try and compile a fairly comprehensive list of scenarios and I had great fun ‘researching’ relevant songs associated with them to help you get through The Valentine Blues.

I tried to pick songs from a variety of artists with the hope that you hear something new or something you haven’t heard in a while. So put your speakers on and get ready to empathise!

  • You’re in a relationship. It’s not working. You don’t know why but you’re too tired to hold on any longer.

Ellie Goulding- Hanging On

‘You know we can get away
Because I’m calling your name

I just can’t keep hanging on, to you and me
I just don’t know what is wrong, with you and me’

(Her voice just sounds ethereal in this, particularly in the beginning.)

  • Somebody left you. You’re a mess and they seem absolutely fine. What a !@#$%^.

The Script- Breakeven

‘What am I supposed to do when the best part of me was always you?
And what am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re ok?
I’m falling to pieces, yeah,
I’m falling to pieces’

  • When you’ve been let down or lied to and the best thing to do is say goodbye. Yeah time to leave that !@#$%^.

Lianna la Havas- Gone

‘Love is not blind, it’s just deaf and it is dumb
So how could I fool myself thinking you were the one
How sad, how undignified
Now I found you out
This is my last goodbye’

  • They can’t commit. They keep changing their mind because they don’t know what they want. What a !@#$%^.

Adele- Turning Tables

‘God only knows what we’re fighting for
All that I say, you always say more
I can’t keep up with your turning tables
Under your thumb I can’t breathe
So, I won’t let you close enough to hurt me
No, I won’t rescue you to just desert me
I can’t give you the heart you think you gave me
It’s time to say goodbye to turning tables’

(It’s not possible to talk breakup music without mentioning Adele)

  • That one person is just always on your mind and you can’t shake it. Seriously annoying.

Lemar- It’s Not That Easy

‘Girl I’ve tried and tried a million times
To get you off my mind
It’s not that easy
It’s not that easy
Don’t you know how hard it is for me
To smile and say goodbye
It’s not that easy
It’s not that easy’

  • When a relationship is over and they’re acting like it meant nothing to them. What a !@#$%^.

Gotye- Somebody That I Used To Know

‘But you didn’t have to cut me off
Make out like it never happened and that we were nothing
And I don’t even need your love
But you treat me like a stranger and that feels so rough
No you didn’t have to stoop so low
Have your friends collect your records and then change your number
I guess that I don’t need that though
Now you’re just somebody that I used to know’

(This is a radio edit of the song that I like a lot more than the original. Got a bit of extra kick to it.)

  • When you’ve had enough of this crap and decide you don’t need anyone but yourself. ALL THE LADIES IF YOU FEEL ME, HELP ME SING IT OUTTT (if you’ve heard the song before, you’ll understand)

Beyonce- Me, Myself & I

‘Cuz I realized I got me, myself and I
That’s all I got in the end
That’s what I found out
And it ain’t no need to cry
I took a vow that from now on
I’m gonna be my own best friend’

(I just had to share the live version of this song because my god Bey can SANG (it’s not a typo)! She turns this sad song into an anthem! Absolutely kills it from 1:45 onwards)

It was so hard whittling down to just seven songs but I figured 50 songs was probably overkill so there you have it.

If you’re actually beautifully, disgustingly in love, then have no fear my next post will be songs just for youu!

Over and Out!

Comments on: "29. Put your speakers on and get ready to empathise!" (2)

  1. 😦

Leave a Reply

