Welcome to the inside of my head.

Today has been… interesting.

It’s Friday so I was teaching at a secondary school for M3T and today we were responsible for organising the starter activity. I have spent many hours this week making, printing, laminating and cutting hexagons that fit together like a puzzle with metal arithmetic questions of them. This activity was aimed towards a year 7 bottom set who struggle with subtraction and time tables but more than that, they have very short attention spans and are generally disaffected with school. This was not the ideal class to be working with… but we were kind of forced into it. They actually stressed me out today. I am not exaggerating when I say it took the teacher 20 minutes for them to just settle down. When they finally started doing the activity, one boy randomly had a hissy fit and threw his cards across the room. I mean what the hell is this?! Furthermore I was absolutely astounded at how many of them don’t come to school with basic stationary like… a pencil? Or heaven forbid a ruler?!

Oh my god as I’m typing this, the electricity just got cut. This is the second time today. I feel like I’m living in a third world country.

Anyway, there was one kid in particular that I wanted to backhand. I probably shouldn’t say that but he was so annoying. He just wouldn’t not stop asking pointless question (yayyy electricity is back) such as:

  • Why are you here?
  • Where are you from?
  • Are you from India/ Pakistan/ Afghanistan/ Egypt/ Morroco/ *insert numerous another countries*?
  • Miss are you 30?
  • Miss have you finished school?
  • How old are?
  • Miss are you 13/ 14/ *insert random numbers*?
  • Miss are you married?
  • Miss do you have children?
  • Are you two sisters?
  • Miss are you gay?

Oh I’m sorry- I thought I was here to help you improve your Maths, not play 21 questions.

What’s worse is that we have to make a another starter activity for the same lot of kids again. EHHH I want to work with another class- ANY other class will do.

After the headache of that lesson, I went to watch Les Miserables on the big screen. I ended up going to Hammersmith because they were the only one that had  a showing at a decent time. Now I’m not sure where this preconception came from, but I thought Hammersmith as an area was decent. How wrong I was! It was just like walking through Hayes Town which let’s be honest, is a complete shithole (excuse my French). Seriously disappointing! Even worse, we ended up eating at Chicken Cottage because I don’t even know why, and the atmosphere at the place was more depressing than a funeral. It was like silence and the woman behind the counter served us like a zombie.

Onto the film itself. Okay I know it’s had rave reviews and it’s tipped for like a million Oscars but I had some serious issues with it.
I have seen Les Mis in the theatre and I knew that this movie would be a musical but I didn’t realise just how close they would be keeping to the theatre version. They are singing ALL THE TIME. There is two and half hours of singing. Some people can handle it- I couldn’t. Why must every line be sung? I was praying some of the characters would die so that they would stop bloody singing but NO even after they’re dead, they come back and sing some more. Don’t get me wrong, there is some brilliant acting and some of the songs were great but there’s a limit. Perhaps I’m not cultured enough.
On top of that, I could not take Russell Crowe aka Gladiator singing seriously. It was nearly as bad as Pierce Brosnan singing in Mamma Mia (I have rarely cringed so much in my life). And while Hugh Jackman was weeping, all I could think was WOLVERINE GET YO SHIT TOGETHER.
Then there was the romance between Colette aka. Courgette and Marius. I have never seen anyone fall in love that quick. It was literally two glances and he was all like MY LIFE HAS CHANGED. MY HEART BEATS FOR YOU.  I DON’T KNOW YOUR NAME OR ANYTHING ABOUT YOU BUT I WOULD GLADLY STOP FIGHTING FOR THE CAUSE I’M SUPPOSED TO BE SO PASSIONATE ABOUT.

And that’s all I have to say about that. This post might seem a touch angrier than usual. Blame the children at the secondary school.

Over and Out.

Comments on: "31. Not the best day of my life" (4)

  1. sexybeast said:

    What a bunch of twats. I’ll have to beat them up for you. Yet another awesome post I read your blog every day keep up the good work 🙂

    • threemagical said:

      Now who could this be….
      Thank you for your comment. It made me feel all warm and bubbly inside.

  2. I know how you feel i was on work experience last year and the same happened to me. The younger they are the more they get on your nerves. Sooo many questions and screaming constantly. Don’t they ever stop 🙂

    • threemagical said:

      Mele! I didn’t know you were still reading this!
      You’re right though- they’re bloody annoying sometimes. We were definitely not like that!

Leave a Reply

