Welcome to the inside of my head.

52. Presents Mania

Completely unintentionally, today ended up being a day of present giving. I love giving presents just as much as I like receiving them. There is an immense satisfaction in seeing someone’s eyes light up at the sight of something you bought. I’m probably just as excited seeing them unwrap their presents as they are. Gifts are personal things and I like to try and tailor them to people’s personalities and interests.

Onto the actual presents. The first was for my Mummy. She loves bags; every size, every type, every colour. I’ve had the same bag for the last 3 years and she’s had about 6. But hey she likes them so I decided to add another one to her (vast) collection. In particular, she’s been dropping (not so subtle) hints about Cath Kidston who is famous for her floral prints and oilcloth bags.

rosewhite

Cath Kidston floral pattern

I went to the Cath Kidston store in Covent Garden and it was so hard not to buy the whole shop (but I’m brown and trained well not to spend any more money than I have to). Everything looks so cute in floral patterns. They have everything you can possibly think of: bags, purses, clothes, nighties, notebooks, plates, cups, key rings, cards… The downside was that they were bloody expensive. The plainest, tiniest cards were priced at an eye watering £3.50.

The second was for my friend Stefan who will be turning 21 soon but today is the last day I’ll see him before then. He always kicks up a fuss about presents. His birthday is on 1st April and the first time I tried to give him a present, he told me it wasn’t actually his birthday and refused my present. Don’t worry he accepted it later. He has a very…distinct personality. Let’s just say he could give grumpy cat a run for its money but it’s endearing in a weird sort of way….once you learn not to take him seriously.

I took great pleasure in wrapping his present in pink wrapping paper. I can’t share what the present is because he reads this blog (occasionally) and he’s planning on opening it on his birthday but I can tell you that it’s really cool!

The last present was for James (rather belated). I found a site called Red Bubble which sells t-shirts with all sorts of amazing designs. Run a search for Pokemon or Harry Potter and I guarantee you’ll be there for a good half an hour scrolling and thinking…want.. want…oooh… want. This one never fails to amuse me:

Also apologies for the lack of posting recently. I had a burst of crappy coursework which has been eating up most of my time *shakes fist*.

Comments on: "52. Presents Mania" (1)

  1. You’re such a student, I love it!

Leave a Reply

