Welcome to the inside of my head.

65. Things they said.

Bury it they said.
Hide it away deep in the depths.
Let no-one see
the hurt of promises unkept.

Give time some time they said.
Glue together the broken pieces.
Step back until the cracks look faded
and pray one day the pain ceases.

Things will get better they said.
I always thought they were lying.
It is not enough for the lessons learnt
to be the only silver lining.

 

I have never posted anything vaguely poetic before so this is a first. I feel oddly vulnerable for doing so maybe because it’s not exactly a ‘happy’ piece. Though I’m not feeling remotely sad, the words just kind flowed out of my mind today. I’m not sure what my sub-conscious is trying to tell me but what the heck.

Over and Out.

Comments on: "65. Things they said." (5)

  1. Sometimes taking the plunge is the scary part, but once you’re in the water things don’t seem so bad. Well done for giving your first poem a go. Take care and keep paddling

    • Thank you for your comment and advice. I still feel a bit shaky about publishing this but far less than before. I guess it’ll get easier the more I write.

  2. Food 4 The Soul 93 said:

    Great “first” job! Loved reading it…keep going…

    Take care, lady
    Skip 🙂

Leave a Reply

