Welcome to the inside of my head.

The Great Gatsby. It’s being advertised like crazy and the cast list boasts of the likes of Leonardo DiCaprio, Carey Mulligan and Tobey Maguire. On top of that it has one hell of a soundtrack. They managed to get friggin Jay Z as the executive producer who is probably one of the most well connected rappers in the game.

Songs off the soundtrack:

Florence and the Machine- Over the Love

This is one of the best songs I have heard in a long long while. It’s classic Florence- starts off soft and slow, melodious catchy chorus and above all a powerful vocal. Gosh some of her high notes in this are impressive but it’s the end of the song that totally won me.

AND I SING FROM THE PIANOOO

Lana Del Ray- Young and Beautiful

For me, Lana is the queen of wistful melancholy songs. Her voice has so much depth and this song is beautiful. There’s a kind of innocence in the way she asks ‘will you still love me when I’m no longer young and beautiful?’. Yes Lana, I will still love you.

Sia- Kill and Run

Sia has a very distinctive voice and she showcases it in this song but I dunno it feels a little too slow for too long and the big dramatic part of the song is nowhere near as powerful as Florence’s or Lana’s. Perhaps it will sound better when it’s used in context with the movie.

Beyonce and Andre 3000- Back to Black

Can’t have Jay Z without Beyonce getting involved somehow… But anyway this is the second time Queen B and Andre 3000 have paired up; the first being for Beyonce’s song ‘Party’ which I didn’t think was anything special so I was hoping for something better this time. However ‘Back to Black’ is Amy Winehouse’s song and I was skeptical that anyone would be able to convey the heartbreak quite like she did. So unsurprisingly this song came up short. Instrumentally it’s good but vocally, it just feels… off… too many vocal acrobatics from Beyonce and bizarre singing/talking from Andre 3000.

As for the film itself, it looks really good. I have high expectations! Leonardo DiCaprio better get an Oscar for this- it’s about time.

Over and Out!

Leave a Reply

