Welcome to the inside of my head.

80. Exam Complaints

I don’t want to be one of those people who’s always banging on about their exams but this blog is for my thoughts and they’re all I can think about right now. I apologise.

2 papers are out of the way and they went okay. Could have been better. Could have been worse. I’ve resolved not to think about them anymore and just to focus on the next hurdle… which is Group Theory on Monday.

I took Group Theory because my second year project was related to it and I thought I’d have a headstart in the module. I guess I did… for all of 2 weeks and then I was as lost as everyone else. However I don’t regret taking it. Some of the proofs in it are exceedingly clever and I found the course overall really interesting.

But I really don’t want to do an exam on it. There are 65 proofs in the course and I probably couldn’t memorize them all even if I had a lifetime. I am praying the stuff I know comes up and not some obscure lemma that I glanced over.

The questions will supposedly be structured as following: 1 or 2 parts which are directly from lectures (eg. proofs and definitions) and another 1 or 2 parts which is some unseen/ seen similar application.
The lecturer might think he’s being uber generous giving us stuff directly from lectures but the truth is if you remember it, it’s all well and good but if you don’t then you are royally screwed. You can’t blag it and you can’t ‘work it out’. It will usually mean that you can’t do the rest of the question either.
Say you can do the first part of the question, that is no guarantee that you can do the second part and ‘apply’ it. Most of the time, there is some sneaky trick. If you see it, EPIC WIN. If you don’t, may God have mercy on your soul because you’re going to need a miracle to answer the question without said trick.

In many of the questions, he’ll ask us to work something out and that we can use ‘any results from lectures as long as they are stated clearly’ to help. This sounds good right? WRONG. These kinds of questions are awful. In the mock paper he asked a question like that and he ended up using four facts from three different chapters, put them all together and claimed BAM! answer. HOW! How do I know which facts to bloody extract?!

*sigh*. I’ll do what I can.

Over and Out!

Comments on: "80. Exam Complaints" (5)

  1. Awww just do your best Group Theory Queen!

    You have that title for a reason 😛

  2. Flora Pan said:

    That’s math for you.. T-T I feel your pain, but not as much because I take science not mathematics. However the calculus course that I took..if you couldn’t see that trick you can’t solve the problem. I absolutely hate those questions. The profs even say “it’s half practice and half intuition, you have to see it”…what kind of non-sense is that?!?!?
    Best of luck to you though, I’m sure you’ll make your way through it 🙂

    • My whole degree is pretty much ‘half practice and half intuition’. I ought to take tea leaves or something into the exams to enlighten me.
      Thank you for the luck 🙂 I hope you’re feeling better 🙂

      • Flora Pan said:

        You’re welcome 🙂 And thank you, I’m feeling much better! Thank goodness for pharmacologists that develop kickass medicine, my eyes are back to normal 🙂

Leave a Reply

