Welcome to the inside of my head.

92. Life After Exams

I realise I’ve been quiet for a while. I’d like to say it was because I’ve been partying like a mofo but the boring truth is that I’ve been stuck writing up a project. I thought your exams were finished I hear you say?! Well they are, but this is some left over stuff I have to do as consolation for doing one less exam than my peers.

This project is basically about how mathematics is taught at the secondary school I visited every week last term. It was (mostly) fun visiting the school and working with the kids but writing about it is hella boring. I feel like I’m doing sooo much bullshitting and for someone who likes to be concise, I find this painful. I find myself saying things like ‘oh the teacher put up the learning objectives right at the beginning of the lesson so the pupils knew what to expect’. Please someone gimme a gold medal for this invaluable insight.

We’re also supposed to sing our praises and I always find this uncomfortable even when I’m proud of what I’ve done. I feel like I either go two ways; totally understating my achievements or sounding really cocky. So I’ll either end up writing ‘I think the students quite enjoyed the lesson’ or ‘Hell Yeah I was born to teach. These kids are gonna remember this lesson for the rest of their lives yo’. I need to find a happy medium.

On the plus side, the weather has been totally gorgeous. I’m currently sitting outside in the garden lying on the grass, basking in the rays and trying to avoid a tan (because I’m brown).

Oh yeah, I’m also in the process of trying to find a supervisor for my fourth year project. I’m currently trying to decide between three lecturers. This is a really important decision for me because my supervisor will be the one to write my reference and they’ll also be guiding me through my project which is a worth a substantial proportion of my final year. It’s also heavily influential in determining degree classes if you’re borderline, which I am. I’m currently on the wrong side between a 2:1 and a First. Sad times.

Additionally I’m trying to decide whether it’ll be a good idea to do a project on group theory which is very ‘pure’ but the mathematics is beautiful. It’ll probably be the last time I get to really appreciate the intricacies within proofs…or I could do a project more statistics related which would be more relevant considering my career aspirations (and it’ll pimp my CV). Same old story. Follow the heart or the brain? My gut is siding with brain right now.

In other news:

  • Today I hit 15 million on Neopets. Awww Yeah. I see y’all looking at me enviously wishing you had my virtual money.
  • I watched the latest episode of Game of Thrones yesterday and I had to sit there for five minutes rocking backwards and forwards with my head in my hands to deal with the trauma from the Red Wedding. I am still devastated.
  • I was crushed against some random guy’s butt for the duration of my journey on the Bakerloo line today. Unwanted contact. Highly unpleasant experience.

Over and Out!

Comments on: "92. Life After Exams" (8)

  1. Goo Altador Cup!

  2. Flora Pan said:

    good to hear the weather is fabulous! over here is not so lovely. the beautiful canada decided that it’s okay for the temperature to only sit at 15 degrees in june >.>

    • That’s horrendous by Summer standards! I hope it warms up soon- I think we all deserve some sunshine for our holidays πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

