Welcome to the inside of my head.

120. Can I go back to uni now?

I’m seeing posts and statuses everywhere about how excited people are to be returning to uni and I’m still sitting at home like a bum waiting for term to start. Most unis start in September; mine starts in October and whilst this is great if you’re actually doing something, it can get hella boring if you’re not. There is only so much daytime tv one can watch.

I can’t even work on my fourth year project because my project supervisor appears to be MIA. It doesn’t help that my project isn’t the traditional sort so I have no idea where to begin. Not good.

But it’s not like I haven’t done anything this Summer. I completed my internship. I got a job offer. I did two weeks of jury service. The thing is I’m one of those people who likes to always be working towards something and right now I’m not doing anything useful. If this is what being unemployed feels like, please God let me always have a job.

*sigh*

I’ve caught up on sleep. I’m rested. I am so ready to go back. I’d honestly prefer to be buried under coursework deadlines than be this dissatisfied with how I’m using my time.

Over and Out.

Comments on: "120. Can I go back to uni now?" (11)

  1. I know what you mean. Because I’m getting so much homework, I feel like I’m doing something wrong when I’m not working! Dah!

    • Yeah! The thing is I’m grateful for holidays. I love the opportunity to rest. It’s just that the Summer break is so damn long. Who says we need 3 months off? Why can’t we have more frequent one or two week breaks? I don’t get it.

  2. Yep, I shall hold you to this haha
    Also bear in mind, this is probably the last time you’re gonna get a break this long!

    • Yayyy you’re back!

      I just know I’m going to complain later and everyone will throw this post in my face πŸ˜› I mean who complains about time off right?! *slap on wrist*

      • Heh I was also really looking forward to going back to uni…. until I was actually required to get out of bed on Monday morning -_-

      • Guahaha I’m sure I’ll be saying the same thing when my lectures properly start- I have a horrendous timetable this year!

        What did you make of Imperial?

      • The atmosphere at Imperial is nothing like it is at SOAS, but I have to admit, it was nice hearing so many people speaking Mandarin πŸ˜‰

      • Imperial is certainly international in that sense!

        What’s the atmosphere like at SOAS?

      • There’s a much bigger….variety in terms of SOAS’s international student body.
        I’m not sure how to explain it – but I guess it was just that Imperial seemed much more serious than SOAS, where the atmosphere is a lot more laid-back. But that’s to be expected from a world-class university πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

