Welcome to the inside of my head.

Hear me out on this- I’m not saying we should go around offending one another but I do think that swearing in moderation when the occasion calls might actually have advantages.

1. It alleviates pain.

Seriously. I’m sure some study somewhere showed that swearing after you stub your toe releases endorphins which are happy hormones that make you feel better. A good old yelp of ‘shit, damn door!’ might just be what you need. Doctor’s recommendation.

2. It helps you exaggerate things.

A little bit of swearing interwoven into everyday language can have a wonderful effect for storytelling. I mean would you rather hear that something was ‘really weird’ or ‘batshit insane’? ‘Really bad’ or ‘piss poor’? There is a huge difference in descriptive power. Swearing makes things so much funnier too- I can’t explain why.

3. It can help win any argument (with people you don’t like)

A well placed STFU can end any argument instantly and have you crowned champion. I had to add the bit in brackets because if you use this against your partner say, you’re gonna be in deep shit. Use it carefully!

4. It enables you to enjoy some of your favourite songs

Listening to censored rap music is just unsatisfying. Swearing is a language all rap artists appear to be fluent in, maybe because it’s so effective at conveying anger and strength of feeling. And even if rap music isn’t to your taste, don’t act like you don’t enjoy screaming along to Cee-Lo Green’s ‘FUCK YOU’.

5. It’ll help you man up

I can’t stress enough that I don’t condone insulting people but should you ever receive any verbal abuse, I think it’s useful to have a colourful vocabulary so that you can deliver them a verbal punch back. It makes you less of a target.

 

On an aside, my favourite swear word  is ‘shit’ closely followed by ‘bastard’. I dunno they just roll of the tongue. What are yours? 

Over and Out!

Comments on: "124. 5 reasons why swearing is good for you" (4)

  1. I don’t swear, but I see where you’re coming from on these reasons. You know, at first I thought it said 124.5 reasons instead of 5! I can be a bit… slow to catch on at times. 😉

  2. I’m pretty sure it is proven as cathartic – swearing after you stub a toe or something. It definitely helps haha. I like to say ‘goddammit’ but it isn’t really a swear word, still feels good though.

Leave a Reply

