Welcome to the inside of my head.

131. My days are a blur

I know it has been a while but trust me when I say I have not been ignoring this blog because I wanted to or because I didn’t know what to talk about. The past week or two, my days have actually become a blur of waking up, taking the train, going to uni, coding and courseworking and then taking the train back home to do more coding and courseworking. I literally can’t tell my days apart. I feel like a zombie.

This has been the most exhausting and challenging academic terms of my life. Coupled with all the work I need to be doing for my fourth year project andย the fact that it’s my final year, at times I have been feeling overwhelmed. I just never feel like I’m finished. Every time I hand some work in, I can’t even celebrate or take a break because I have another two to do. It has been relentless.

One of my modules has been particularly bad: Statistical Theory. Even the name is off-putting. Stats and theory. Someone hand me a bucket. I made the mistake of thinking that the course would be decent based on the past papers. To be fair for the first few weeks, it was quite good but after that it got worse at like… an exponential rate. We must have studied sufficient statistics for about 3 weeks- I still couldn’t explain to you what they are. The lecturer, bless him, is erm…oh I’ll just say it…ancient. He’s ancient. He has a tendency to call everything trivial and assumes we know a lot more than we actually do. Coupled with his muttering and frightening hysterical laughing at his own jokes, his lectures can feel torturous. However he always seems so pleased that people are attending his lectures and now I don’t have the heart to leave and disappoint him.

I don’t want it to all sound awful so I shall say this: while this term has definitely been stressful, it has felt oddly rewarding too. Coding is so frustrating- little things can completely mess it up- but when it works you feel like a superstar. Most of Mathematics is like that.

Still I am really looking forward to the end of term so I can hibernate, catch up on my tv shows and just have time to go through my notes thoroughly. More importantly I want to spend time with my family and with my cousins. I have really missed their annoying lovely faces.

Over and Out!

Comments on: "131. My days are a blur" (11)

  1. I think we’ve finally reached the stage of “life of a final year”. I always feel like planning, writing, or drafting an essay.

  2. Ugh that doesn’t sound like much fun. It sounds a lot like what I feel like my life should be right now, but I’m not doing it.
    Your Statistical Theory lecturer sounds a lot like my teacher for Classical Chinese in Beijing. It’s a lot weirder when the muttered jokes are in Chinese, based around Classical Chinese, and frighteningly laughed at by none other than the teacher himself…on his own.
    End of term is in sight, keep at it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • The countdown till the end of term is definitely what’s keeping me going right now!
      There’s always at least one slightly barmy lecturer every year…stir crazy (the random laughing is what scares me) but certainly leave a lasting impression….
      You keep mentioning what you *should* be doing, I’m rather curious as to what you *are* doing ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. Time to catch up with Vampire Diaries!!!!

    And congrats on completing the courseworks so far ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’ve missed four episodes now. I’m planning on doing a tv marathon when term finishes ๐Ÿ˜›

      Congratz on surviving this far also ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Good luck, just keep going! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I did Stat Theory for about a month in third year then dropped out. If you stick with, all I can say is good luck coz you must be well and truly hardcore!

    • Ah- then you know my pain! Stat Theory has felt like a marathon. I’m not 100% sure I’m going to sit the exam but I am going see the lectures through till the end. Luckily this term I took an extra module so I could just replace it with someone else next term. We shall see!

Leave a Reply

