Welcome to the inside of my head.

135. A Snapshot Of My Year

I had my 21st birthday in January and my friends bought me a onesie.

mybirthday

Does it look like they’re struggling with my weight? πŸ˜›Β 

We had snow and everyone realised that I have terrible aim.

IMG-20130121-WA002

Asking for mercy.

James had a big birthday bash and I had a blast.

asharabday

Sh-Shake it like a polaroid picture!

I completed numerous puzzles weekly with James and Shakira. This is one of my favourites.

IMG-20130318-00347

HAIII SONIC

The whiteboard in the Maths Common Room at Imperial is always full of interesting doodles. One week someone decided to write out some Maths terms phonetically. 10 Cool Points for anyone who tries to decipher these (Shakira and James are excluded).

IMG-20130426-00631

You don’t need to be a mathematician to get some of these.

Ahhh revision time for third year exams. Can’t say I enjoyed this but it turned out okay.

IMG-20130328-00429

RIP my beloved headphones. You served me well.

Celebrating the end of exams in style.

IMG-20130531-WA000

Magic.

Driving to Gatwick at 5am and I saw a rainbow as the sun rose. A moment of peace.

IMG-20130617-00955

This picture really doesn’t do it justice. God dammit bad quality Blackberry camera!

A serene afternoon.

IMG-20130624-01018

Dad meets swan. Hi Dad, I’m swan.

I rarely go to arcades but one day me and my cousins literally spent all evening there. I have a weakness for car racing games!

IMG-20130627-01038

I lost badly every time.

I completed an internship with Towers Watson and they decided to hire me. That’s been huge for me.

IMG-20130808-01217

Outside the office.

I might be 21 but that says nothing about my maturity. Me and James in Canary Wharf.

IMG-20130730-01160

SWAG.

Learnt how addictive Roulette is at Towers Watson boat party. We floated down the Thames and whatever its faults, there really is something special about London.

IMG-20130717-01128

I attended my cousin’s wedding in Paris. I took the Eurostar for the first time.

IMG-20130708-01093

The world is getting smaller.

DSC06910

I swear every photo, it looks like I have one foot.

Eid with my family (this is just a handful of us).

IMG-20130811-WA002

❀

I got these for Eid- can’t think of a better present for a Harry Potter fan girl!

IMG-20130815-01261

LOVED Tales of Beedle the Bard. Even his name is epic. BEEDLE.

We went to Ruislip Lido in the Summer. Clearly we weren’t the only ones who had that idea.

IMG-20130714-01106

You’d think it was a beach.

I went to Go Ape which is basically an adventure playground for adults. Kinda perfect for me! The Tarzan leap was my favourite- that rush of adrenaline you feel when you jump of the edge!

goape

Treetop adventure πŸ™‚

Fresher’s Fair marked the return of university for my final year after an eventful Summer.

IMG-20131001-01449

The Christmas lights on Oxford street.

IMG-20131124-01526

The pretty lights make you forget how cold it is.

Attending my final Imperial’s Math Soc Christmas Dinner. The highlight was dancing like a complete idiot to some god awful songs with James. Boy! What a workout.

aliyamathssoc

Shame about the food though.

And there you have it. Here’s to a bright 2014.

Merry Christmas y’all.

Over and Out!

Comments on: "135. A Snapshot Of My Year" (7)

  1. Awww this was really nice!! You’ve chosen the perfect pictures!

    Its so good to look back at everything you’ve done in a year – brings back so many good memories πŸ™‚

    I also like how your list ranges from the small things like completing the Nonogram puzzle, to big things like getting an internship and attending your cousins wedding in Paris.

    And as James would say, you definitely did have an AWESOME year πŸ˜›

    • Thankies- I spent an embarrassingly long time deciding which pictures to choose!
      I agree I think I have had a pretty AWESOME year πŸ˜›

  2. What a great post and what a great year too! Hope that your next year is as awesome. πŸ™‚
    P.S. I loved the Tales of Beedle the Bard too!

    • Thank you πŸ˜€ I hope next year is awesome too!
      JKR really has a gift for stories I think. Which was your favourite one in Tales of Beedle the Bard (aside from the three brothers)?

      • My favourite has to be The Fountain of Fair Fortune. But more than the stories, I actually enjoyed Dumbledore’s commentary on each story. JKR is definitely a genius! πŸ™‚

  3. This is such an enjoyable post to read you’ve chosen such a good selection of pictures. By the way are some of the words on the board arbitrary, algebra, functional, scientific computing, finance, chaos fractal (?), number three, geometry, special rel (?), and I don’t know what the rest of the words could be, but the English student in me was to drawn in by the phonetic spellings.

    • I really enjoyed sharing my happiness and favourite moments of 2013 πŸ™‚
      Also you have of course been awarded Cool Points for deciphering the words- you got most of them right. Chaos Fractral and Special Rel (short for Relativity) are some of the modules we can take though I’m not taking them because they’re crazy!
      Arbitrary -> Arbitrage (financey term)
      Number Three -> Number Theory (though Theory seems to have been spelled chavvy phonetically)

Leave a Reply

