Welcome to the inside of my head.

I’m sorry I’ve got to talk about it. Today the full trailer for the 50 Shades of Grey movie was released and well… there’s a lot to say. Viewer discretion advised. Blah blah. 

First of all. Release date. Valentine’s Day. Who decided that would be appropriate? The first book in the series is not exactly romantic. And I can’t imagine going to see it as a couple. Both parties would come out feeling hot and bothered, the lady probably fan-girling and the man feeling inadequate. 

The trailer revolves around the first meeting between shy student Anastasia Steele and CEO/ kinky sex god/ gazillionaire Christian Grey. We see his office, the infamous elevator kiss (what is about elevators?!), Charlie Tango the helicopter, brooding Christian playing the piano and Christian the Dom in those jeans. Meanwhile Ana spends most of the trailer breathing heavily, staring at Christian and asking him to ‘enlighten her’. Pretty faithful to the books.

As for the actors. There was so much fuss around who should play Christian Grey. Fan favourites were Matt Bomer and Ian Somerhalder but in the end they went with Calvin Klein model Jamie Dornan. Everyone envisions Christian Grey to their own tastes but personally I have no qualms about Dornan in the looks department. The man is hella distracting in a very very good way. I wish they kept his beard in the film.

Dat hair. Dat beard. Dat face. Dat jawline.

However Christian’s appeal is in his domineering attitude and the fact that he knows exactly what he wants and how to get it.  I wasn’t seeing this quality in the trailer but who knows? I also felt like the sound of his voice wasn’t ‘hot’ enough. 

Prior to the trailer I wasn’t convinced that Dakota Johnson was right as Ana mainly because I’d envisioned Alexis Bledel. However I think her portrayal of a quiet, innocent girl who was overwhelmed by Christian and afraid of how he made her feel hit the mark.

The secondary characters basically got zero screen time though we do catch a glimpse of Taylor and the Grey family. However Ana’s best friend Kate and the infamous Mrs Robinson are notably absent.

Overall I’d say I was mildly impressed but mainly because I had such low expectations. I’m not sure how the more graphic scenes are going to play out or if it’s even possible to do them tastefully. How far are they going to go? I hope they leave a little to the imagination because I really don’t want to see everythang.

Except in my mind’s eye. That’s okay.

Over and Out! Laters baby!

Comments on: "154. Mr Grey Will See You Now." (3)

  1. For me, the whole idea seems a bit weird. Admittedly I haven’t read the books, but from what I’ve heard, the writing is pretty bad. 😛 What did you think of it?

    • Weird makes sense, after all I don’t think you’re the target audience 😛

      As for how I found the books. They are definitely not written well and most of the dialogue is incredibly cringey but there is a plot in there somewhere and there’s something about it that keeps you reading. It’s basically a guilty pleasure but I think you should steer clear of it.

      • You’d be surprised how many teenage boys I have seen pleading to English sub teachers to let them read 50 Shades of Grey in class. Although I guess we’re more for giggling at the innuendoes. 😉

        That makes sense. I wouldn’t have thought it to be the next P & P. Don’t worry, I was steering clear of the books anyway. 😛

Leave a Reply

