Welcome to the inside of my head.

160. First Day of Work!

I’m at one of those funny stages in life where I KNOW that my life is going to completely change. No more can I be a scruffy student attending lectures and agonizing over maths problems… Nope now I’ve got to be a classy sociable consultant (such a fancy term for basically chatting to people). And there’s nothing quite like your first day at work for that to hit home. A part of me is very sad to leave the security and tight knit friendships formed at Imperial but another part of me is equal parts excited and scared out of my mind about what’s to come.

Considering I’d done an internship last Summer with the company I’m joining I should have been more relaxed, but there was so much I’d forgotten and so many new people to meet. We literally had information overload today and we have so many administrative to complete and pre-reading before our training next week. Day one and busy already! On a positive note however lots of people remembered me so that was nice!

The emails feel overwhelming. I remember feeling like this at the start of the internship. Every time I thought I had my inbox in control, I’d receive another bucket load of messages. However I got used to it. I’m hoping I’ll get used to it again…sooner rather than later. It’s weird having to balance so much stuff simultaneously when I’ve spent the last year completely focused on two or three modules. It looks like Outlook’s calender and task panel is going to be my new best friend.

But hey I survived my first day! Let’s see what tomorrow brings! It can only get better right?

What do you guys think of my new glasses?

What do you guys think of my new glasses?

Me and Shakira at reception!

Me and Shakira at reception!

On a semi related note, with work starting I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to dedicate to this blog. However I have every intention of keeping it going even if it means writing posts on the tube like I am right now!

Over and Out!

Comments on: "160. First Day of Work!" (15)

  1. deepbluesandseafoamgreens said:

    Hey go you!!! This is amazing
    Those glasses look fab too 😀

    • Thanks I think it’s pretty darn amazing too. I still can’t get over the fact that someone is actually paying me to basically play on Excel and talk to people all day!

      I’ve had mixed reviews about the glasses. Most people think they suit but I’ve had a few comments about it dominating my face and that it’s a dark colour… I’m glad you like them 🙂

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens said:

        HEHEHEH!!!!!! 😀

        Well I think that dem specs are pretty snazzy, so fear not, I shall use the wonders of intense algebra-ification and make up some formula to cram into everyone else’s craniums XD

      • Haha I’d appreciate that! If that fails I’ll just start telling people that the frames are specially engineered using the Golden Ratio which studies have found to be most aesthetically pleasing (the first part of which is lies but the second part is true!)

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens said:

        YES YES YES YES
        *pats you on head* YES!

      • MATHS FOR THE WIN!

      • deepbluesandseafoamgreens said:

        HAZAAR

  2. Hehe all I’m gonna say is ‘tight knit’ 😛

    Congrats on starting your new job!

  3. Congratulations on the new job! Hope you have fun. 🙂

    • Thanks! It’s been a challenge so far, but in a good way! I’m looking forward to finishing my training so I can start on some real client work!

  4. More excitement than fear though, for sure, right? And if anything, you’ll have more time for blogging – uni involves studying almost all the time, working does not! You’re freeee!

    • I agree the excitement is winning! But it’s a completely different world to uni so I’m having to make some life and attitude adjustments lol

      As for blogging…. I don’t have loads of free time. Whilst my working hours aren’t as bad as other places, my commute is pretty long and by the time I get home and have dinner, my day is basically gone 😦 Also I made the fabulous choice of pursuing a career path that means studying for a further 13 exams. Thus not so free!

      • Oh… how many years are the exams spread over? It’ll be nice to still be busy though, might as well do it now while you’re still in a semi-studious mode 🙂
        Good luck!

      • Depending on how much of your life you’re willing to give up, it can take anywhere between 3-6 years. I plan to be nerdy and get them over with as soon as possible! I shall need the luck and motivation!

Leave a Reply

