Welcome to the inside of my head.

163. Lies At Work

Now that I’ve been working for 10 months and being a real adult and that, I feel it is time to share some common lies at the office. leggo

What they say: This should take about an hour.
The reality: This will take at least two hours

What they say: Hey, do you have time to job a quick job for me?
The reality: You’re doing this job for me. And chances are it’s not quick.

What they say: While I’m here, I’d like to talk to you about xyz.
The reality: I came here to take to you about xyz.

What they say: Oh, you’re leaving at 5? Good for you.
The reality: You must not have enough work to do. Let me rectify that.

What they say: Thank you for sending that over. Could you also provide xyz?
The reality: I couldn’t care less what you just sent over because it was not what I wanted. Send me what I want dammit.  

What they say: Oh you did that quickly!
The reality: You must have done something wrong.

What they say: I just made a few changes.
The reality: I changed fucking everything.

What they say: Please let me know if you have any questions.
The reality: For the love of god please don’t ask me anything.

What they say: I’d like to request leave on xyz.
The reality: I don’t care what you say. I’m going. This email is a formality.

What they say: Hey how’s that piece of work coming along?
The reality: I wanted it 2 hours ago. What is taking so long?

What they say: What’s your capacity like?
The reality: I have some work for you.

What they say: Hey how’s it going?
The reality: I have some work for you.

What they say: Did you have a good weekend?
The reality: I have some work for you.

See a trend here?

Over and Out!

Comments on: "163. Lies At Work" (11)

  1. Haha so true! The ‘I just made a few changes’ actually made me laugh out loud 🙂

  2. Thanks for this post! Its awsum! Now I know what my future employers and colleagues are gonna mean! Please do check out my blog as well!

  3. Accuracy game too strong

  4. Well, I just finished months of internship and joined full-time. This was so accurate! I actually giggled (lunchtime at work) at “Hey, how’s it going?” 😀

  5. Xyz is great isn’t it. 😛

  6. Hey Aliya!! How’s it going? :p bahaha

Leave a Reply

